Based on recommendations from local and federal officials, FASEB staff is teleworking to ensure the staff's safety. FASEB is still here to serve you. Email FASEB staff directly if you have any questions.

Public Service Award


The FASEB Public Service Award is given periodically, in order to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the cause of biomedical or biological research through their work in government, public affairs, the media, the law, the arts, or related fields. 


On March 12, 2020, FASEB presented its 2019 Public Service Award to France A. Córdova, PhD, for her extraordinary leadership of the National Science Foundation (NSF).

Córdova (shown left), pictured with FASEB President Hannah V. Carey, PhD, will leave NSF in late March 2020 at the end of her six-year appointment. During her term as Director, NSF established programs to make the science and engineering community more inclusive and representative of our society. NSF also led the way to improve the safety of research environments and ensure that harassment of any kind will not be tolerated in the scientific workplace.

Over the course of two administrations, Córdova articulated a positive message about the critical role NSF plays in our nation’s scientific enterprise and established an especially productive working relationship with key committees in Congress that continues today. Thanks to Córdova’s steadfast advocacy for NSF, the agency has broad support in Washington, as more and more policymakers appreciate the foundation’s dual mission to advance knowledge and train the next generation of scientists and engineers.

Past Recipients

  • 2018 – Howard H. Garrison, PhD, Former Director, FASEB Office of Public Affairs
  • 2017 - Francis Collins, MD, PhD, Director, National Institutes of Health 
  • 2016 - Tom Cole, U.S. Representative, and Roy Blunt, U.S. Senator, Chairmen of the House and Senate Appropriations Subcommittees on Labor, Health and Human Services, and Education Related Agencies
  • 2012 - Frank M. Cushing (Posthumously), former Staff Director of the House Appropriations Committee
  • 2010 - Raynard Kington, MD, PhD, Deputy Director, National Institutes of Health
  • 2009 - Congressman David Obey, former Chairman of the Appropriations Committee
  • 2006 - Michael Castle, U.S. Representative
  • 2005 - Newt Gingrich, former Speaker of the House of Representatives, and Dianne Feinstein, U.S. Senator
  • 2000 - Connie Mack, U.S. Senator
  • 1999 - Arlen Specter, U.S. Senator, and Tom Harkin, U.S. Senator
  • 1997 - Nancy Kassebaum Baker, Former U.S. Senator, and Nancy Pelosi, U.S. Representative
  • 1996 - Mark Hatfield, U.S. Senator, and John Porter, U.S. Representative
  • 1994 - Dr. Howard Schachman, University of California Berkeley Biochemist and Spokesman for Bench Scientists
  • 1993 - Dr. Ruth L. Kirschstein, Deputy Director of National Institutes of Health 
  • 1992 - Thomas “Tip” O’Neill, Speaker of the House, and Silvio Conte, U.S. Representative (posthumous)
  • 1991 - Katie McCabe, Author
  • 1990 - Dr. Frederick K. Goodwin, ADAMHA Director, and Dr. C. Everett Koop, U.S. Surgeon General
  • 1989 - Dr. James Wyngaarden, former Director, National Institutes of Health 
  • 1988 - Dr. Lewis Thomas, Physician and Writer, and Dr. James A. Shannon, former Director, National Institutes of Health 
  • 1987 - Ann Landers, Columnist, and Mary Lasker, Philanthropist
  • 1986 - Lowell P. Weicker, U.S. Senator, and William Natcher, U.S. Representative


maltepe escort kartal escort kadıköy escort ataşehir escort pendik escort göztepe escort
escort izmir escort izmir escort izmir izmir escort bayan
beylikduzu escort
denizli eskort bayan
mersin escort