MARC Travel Awards Announced for Experimental Biology 2016

March 11, 2016
Bethesda, MD – FASEB MARC (Maximizing Access to Research Careers) Program has announced the travel award recipients for Experimental Biology 2016 from April 2-6, 2016 in San Diego, CA.  These awards are meant to promote the entry of students, post doctorates and scientists from underrepresented groups into the mainstream of the basic science community and to encourage the participation of young scientists at Experimental Biology 2016.  This year MARC conferred 49 awards totaling $90,650.

The FASEB MARC Program is funded by a grant from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences, National Institutes of Health. A primary goal of the MARC Program is to increase the number and competitiveness of underrepresented groups engaged in biomedical and behavioral research.

The following participants have been selected to receive a FASEB MARC Travel Award:


Smith Agyingi, Rochester Institute of Technology
Erica Alexeev, University of Colorado, Anschutz
Michael Amadi, California State University, East Bay
Kiara Amaro-Rivera, University of Puerto Rico, Medical Sciences Campus
Tasha Barr, University of California, Riverside
Jacqueline Bergman, University of California, Davis
Cheavar Blair, University of Kentucky
Teylor Bowles, Jackson State University
Lillian Brady, University of Alabama at Birmingham
Shyretha Brown, Tennessee State University
Reniece Buchanan, Medgar Evers College
Deisy Contreras, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Andrea de Los Santos, St. Mary’s University
Daneil Diaz-Aguilar, Schepens Eye Research Institute
Loren Dubose, Medgar Evers College
Dede Ekoue, University of Illinois, Chicago
Oluremi Famodu, West Virginia University
Sanae Ferreira, Boston University School of Medicine
Brianna George, Texas Tech University
Tanoya Harris, University of Texas, HSC San Antonio
Samantha Jones, Florida A&M University
Celestial Jones-Paris, Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Ananna Kazi, Binghamton University
Syntia Kwende, Texas Southern University
Fran Alberto Franceschini Lopez, University of Puerto Rico, Ponce
Andrea Lopez-Cepero, University of Massachusetts Medical School
Angela Mahaffey, Loyola University, Chicago
Bridget Martinez, University of California, Merced
Luis Martinez, University of Houston
Janachia McGovern, Southern University A&M College
Alejandro Mendoza, University of California Los Angeles, Harbor
Jana Miles, Florida A&M University
Leah Mitchell-Bush, Texas Southern University
Alina Monteagudo, University of Rochester
Antoinette Nelson, Rutgers University
Augustine Nkembo, Florida A&M University
Ron Nwumeh, Washington University in St. Louis
Robera Olijira, University of Colorado, Denver
Victoria Parker, University of Iowa
Keyera Randolph, St. Mary’s University
Derion Reid, Northeastern University
Iman Saber, Temple University School of Pharmacy
Olufisayo Salako, Florida A&M University
Danielle Semple, Medgar Evers College
Mikaela Sifuentes, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
Brandon Stewart, Texas Tech University
Francisco Velazquez, Tufts Sackler Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
Johanna Villarreal, St. Mary’s University
Pandora White, University of Alabama

FASEB is composed of 30 societies with more than 125,000 members, making it the largest coalition of biomedical research associations in the United States. Our mission is to advance health and welfare by promoting progress and education in biological and biomedical sciences through service to our member societies and collaborative advocacy.

Categories: Travel Award Announcements;