House Appropriations Committee Welcomes New Members and Subcommittee Chairmen
Created by lgreen on 12/19/2013

By Jennifer Zeitzer

Three new members have been named to the House Appropriations Committee to fill vacancies created by the death of Representative C.W. Bill Young (R-FL) and the retirements of Representatives Rodney Alexander (R-LA) and Jo Bonner (R-AL) earlier this fall. The new members include Representatives Martha Roby (R-AL), Chris Stewart (R-UT), and Mark Amodei (R-NV), all of whom have developed a strong fiscally conservative reputation on Capitol Hill.

Representative Roby previously supported a balanced budget amendment to the Constitution. Stewart is a member of the Republican Study Committee, a group that has been very vocal about preserving the funding limits enacted in the Budget Control Act, and Amodei promised his constituents he would advocate for policies to control federal spending and address the debt.

“These dedicated public servants have proven their commitment to the responsible shepherding of federal tax dollars, to the regular Appropriations process, and to both the people of their districts and the American people as a whole,” said Appropriations Committee Chairman Hal Rogers (R-KY) in a press release announcing the appointments.

Representative Young’s death and Rep. Alexander’s retirement also created changes in the roster of Appropriations Subcommittee chairmen. Four of the 12 subcommittees, including Energy and Water, which has jurisdiction over the Department of Energy Office of Science, have new leaders (see table below). Representatives Ken Calvert (R-CA) and Tom Cole (R-OK) are first time subcommittee chairmen. More information about the changes is available in a press release from Chairman Rogers. 


Appropriations Subcommittee


New Chairman


Former Chairman


Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-NJ)

Bill Young (R-FL)

Energy & Water

Mike Simpson (R-ID)

Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-NJ)

Interior & Environment

Ken Calvert (R-CA)

Mike Simpson (R-ID)

Legislative Branch

Tom Cole (R-OK)

Rodney Alexander (R-LA)